How to Rank on Page 1 of Amazon and Stay There
Rockets go fast to break away from Earth’s gravity.
4.9 miles/7.9 kilometers per second.
It’s called orbital velocity, and it’s 20x the speed of sound. I’m going to challenge you here: if a rocket (made by people no smarter than you) can break the speed of sound 20 times over, YOU can break onto page 1 on Amazon!
But like the rocket, getting there requires velocity. Sales velocity. From there, the journey’s easier. With enough velocity you can cruise, enjoying the rewards of page 1.
So, how do we get to page 1 and stay there, ensuring recurring income?
Answer: earn Amazon as much money as the other items that currently show on Page 1 for a keyword. And to stay there, maintain that sales level.
Let’s do this 5 steps with an example product: “shiatsu pillows”, vibrating neck pillows for after a tough day at the office. If you want more cool ideas like these, check out our 100 niches over on YouTube.
(1) CALCULATE DAILY PAGE 1 SALES
Consider this quote from The Art of War: “in war, the victorious strategist only seeks battle after the victory has been won, whereas he who is destined to defeat first fights and afterwards looks for victory.”
Point: make sure you can win before even starting.
Calculate the average daily sales on page 1 with a tool like Jungle Scout. That way, you’ll know how many products you need to give away to artificially match the page 1 competition boost your ranking.
I spent 71 hours compiling a list of 100 such niches for 2016. It comes with the main keyword, written recommendations for launch, a Jungle Scout screenshot of the market, and projected ROI. The report is $500 to protect the niches from non-serious sellers and you can get it here.
Let’s get back to our example: shiatsu pillows.
Average monthly revenue in the top 10 = $31,948.
Average selling price = $46.55.
Average review count = 307.
Most important to our strategy is this: Jungle Scout shows the monthly sales levels in top 16 (page 1) is 711 units/month. If we divide this by an average 30-day month, that’s 23 units/day.
So now we have a very important piece of information: we need to sell 23 units/day to match the other page 1 sellers.
Amazon will want to know that our listing can sell at least 23 units (if not more), otherwise why would we appear on page 1? We wouldn’t deserve to.
(2) OPTIMIZE RUTHLESSLY
How good your listing is determines the success of the following steps.
Do the following:
+ take 7 good product photos (1 main image on white, 2 others on white, 2 with props, 2 presenting core benefits)
+ title that hits the main keywords, makes grammatical sense, and presents benefits
+ bullet points and description that sell using deep human needs. Here are the only 8 things customers want.
+ add non-repeating Search Terms to the back-end of your listing in Seller Central
Alternatively, you can outsource optimization to HonestFew, and get the same quality as our $300k/month clients.
(3) LAUNCH WITH POWER
Next, you’ll use a service like HonestFew in order to generate your target amount of sales that are competitive with page 1 sellers. This is an essential step if you seriously want to rank on page 1 of Amazon.
We ordered 500 shiatsu pillows from our supplier. And, we’ve decided to launch 50 units/day for 4 days (to have a commanding lead over the page 1 average of 23). So we’ll promote 200 units, an HonestFew Diamond Package. A little example, there.
By launching and selling 50 units every day for 4 days, you’re showing Amazon that you’re capable of matching (and exceeding) the current standard on page 1 for the keyword “shiatsu pillow”.
It’ll take some time, but Amazon will take notice and your BSR will start to improve.
Now, it’s time to maintain the sales velocity using natural sales.
(4) PRICE TO MOVE
While the promotion is winding down, lower your price so that you can seamlessly transition from launch sales to natural sales.
A launch (like those from HonestFew) will give you sales velocity (the thrust to leave orbit), but a lower price will give you those natural sales to keep your daily numbers up (leaving Earth’s gravity for good).
Ideally, your price should be low enough that you can hit your daily sales numbers to be page 1 competitive. Calculate your break-even point, and charge just above that.
Example: the break-even price for our beloved shiatsu pillows:
Your eventual Amazon listing price = $46.55 (that’s the page 1 average)
Your price on Amazon post-promotion = $14.99 (we’re pricing it to sell and maintain our BSR; profit is secondary)
– $2.25 Amazon referral fee (15% on $14.99)
– $9 in product cost (production and shipping to Amazon)
– $2.68 Amazon pick and pack fee
= $13.93 in total cost.
So selling for $14.99 you’re making $1.06/unit in profit. But who cares? Still profit!
As long as you’re not losing money per transaction, you’re maintaining your sales velocity so that you can rank on page 1 long-term. Per-unit profit is short-term thinking. Maintaining a page 1 sales velocity so that you can rank there is long-term thinking.
Once on page 1, you’ll be in a position to raise your price to make better margins.
(5) RUN AGGRESSIVE PPC
Amazon’s pay-per-click (PPC) allows us to be super-aggressive with sales. You have only to spend.
At this stage, don’t hold back. Target the top keywords in your category. It’s the amount of sales that matter; you can fine-tune your keyword selection later.
Like with pricing the shiatsu pillows to move, preferably the ACoS indicates that we’re making a profit or at least breaking even. If not, consider pausing the PPC campaign (or at the least the problematic keywords within the campaign that are getting clicks but no conversions).